My Daffodil Dog

Daffodil Bench

Today my breath was robbed from me.

My sister and I were walking our dog on our regular route and nothing seemed out of the ordinary. Nothing was. We reached the patch of fenced off grass, a tiny park if you will, that we always walk through while chatting away. As I walked in further, my gaze was drawn to something new; a beautiful bunch of chirpy daffodils picked and left arranged between the metal on a bench.

I was completely stunned. Usually this park brings back the memory of my dog being attacked and I feel slightly panic stricken almost every time we walk through it. It happened on Valentine’s Day 2016 and I still get flashbacks of the screaming, the yelping, and picking up my poor, bleeding baby and running for home as the dog who had just shaken him like a rag doll chased after us. As it was quite late, we had to visit an out-of-hours vet about 30 minutes from home. It was the longest 30 minutes of my life, but it was also a complete blur.

He was given painkillers and antibiotics by the vet and the next day we took him to our vet as his painkillers wore off and the wounds weren’t healing. He was scheduled for surgery. The dog that bit him pushed all his fur into his wounds and he had tissue damage. None of the vets realised the severity of his attack until they shaved him and saw the jaw outline of the dog that attacked him wrapped around his ribcage. Seeing him after that surgery was one of the happiest moments of my life.

We are constantly told by friends and strangers how lovely he is and he was back to his old self in no time. Even before his surgery he was running around playing with his toys and bringing us his favourite squeaky car.

A year later and he is still the happiest dog I’ve ever known. He is the true embodiment of a daffodil. He is sunny and joyous.

Cooper

So walking through this patch of land is usually quite stressful for me, but seeing that someone had taken their time to assemble and leave a bunch of those delightful daffodils, I had to stop and take a moment to really appreciate what they had done. And in the words of my closest friend, “just shows that there’s always reason to be cheerful.”

Eloise

Leave a Reply

